Zyxel Forum - Herzlich Willkommen!

Aktuelle Zeit: Mi 11. Dez 2019, 01:23

Alle Zeiten sind UTC + 1 Stunde




Ein neues Thema erstellen Auf das Thema antworten  [ 15 Beiträge ]  Gehe zu Seite Vorherige  1, 2
Autor Nachricht
BeitragVerfasst: Do 21. Nov 2019, 17:36 
Offline

Registriert: Mi 14. Nov 2018, 19:50
Beiträge: 63
Possibly. Depends on what is written to that 1MiB, and if the filesystem cares.

Rebuild the array with the 3 original members, and add a '--bitmap=none' to the commandline. mdadm is picky on the sequence of the arguments, and I don't know where this has to be inserted. Fortunately it will spawn a clear error message when it doesn't fit.

/edit: meanwhile you changed your message, but the answer is yes.

/edit2: The behaviour of mdadm is changed. The page https://linux.die.net/man/8/mdadm doesn't mention that 100G part.


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
BeitragVerfasst: Do 21. Nov 2019, 18:19 
Offline

Registriert: Mo 18. Nov 2019, 01:05
Beiträge: 12
So i ran
Code:
sudo mdadm --grow --bitmap=none /dev/md2

which seemed to work, since when i try to run it again it now says that there is no bitmap.

Unfortunately the Data Offset is still the same and the raid remains unmountable.

EDIT
Managed to recreate the array by specifying the data-offset manually.
Code:
sudo mdadm --create --assume-clean --level=5  --raid-devices=4 --metadata=1.2 --chunk=64K  --layout=left-symmetric [b]--data-offset=262144s[/b] /dev/md2 /dev/sdd3 /dev/sde3 /dev/sdc3 /dev/sda3

I can now mount this and access the data. It also works in the NAS. Would you now recommend still creating it with the 3rd disk missing and adding the new disk again? It got recovered without errors after all.


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
BeitragVerfasst: Do 21. Nov 2019, 19:51 
Offline

Registriert: Mi 14. Nov 2018, 19:50
Beiträge: 63
The first megabyte of the 3th disk isn't synced, and so contains garbage. (probably zero's). You can have a look if the other disks contain something in the first megabyte. As this is raid5, that is the first 3MiB of the array.
Poor man's data analysis:
Code:
dd if=/dev/md2 bs=1M count=3 | gzip >md2.gz
If that compresses to something like 3~4kB, that part of the array is empty.


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
BeitragVerfasst: Do 21. Nov 2019, 19:58 
Offline

Registriert: Mo 18. Nov 2019, 01:05
Beiträge: 12
It's 189K big. So that means there probably is data?
Would that affect stabilty of the volume or does it just mean that some files may be corrupted?


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
BeitragVerfasst: Do 21. Nov 2019, 20:26 
Offline

Registriert: Mi 14. Nov 2018, 19:50
Beiträge: 63
If a (forced) filesystemcheck doesn't show errors, the filesystem is consistent, and so there's no stability problem. That data might be some file content, but it could also be a leftover of the raid header. You can have a look inside the archive file. If you see something recognizable it's probably file content. But even then, it still could be a deleted file. That 3MiB is less than a millionth of the total array space. So if the filesystem isn't filled to the rim, odds are that it's garbage.

BTW, you don't need to re-create the whole array to resync that member. Something like
Code:
mdadm --fail --remove /dev/md2 /dev/sdb2
mdadm --add /dev/md2 /dev/sdb2
should do. (That /dev/sdb2 is made up. I don't know the real device name).


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
Beiträge der letzten Zeit anzeigen:  Sortiere nach  
Ein neues Thema erstellen Auf das Thema antworten  [ 15 Beiträge ]  Gehe zu Seite Vorherige  1, 2

Alle Zeiten sind UTC + 1 Stunde


Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 1 Gast


Du darfst keine neuen Themen in diesem Forum erstellen.
Du darfst keine Antworten zu Themen in diesem Forum erstellen.
Du darfst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht ändern.
Du darfst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht löschen.
Du darfst keine Dateianhänge in diesem Forum erstellen.

Suche nach:
Gehe zu:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Deutsche Übersetzung durch phpBB.de